Be You

Yellow Duck

These words came to me this morning: If you were doing what somebody else is doing, you couldn’t do what you’re doing. Be you!

Do you ever look at what other people are doing and think, “Man, I wish I could do that!”

That’s not always a bad thing. Those desires can encourage us to step outside of our comfort zone and move us toward improvement. Where we need to have caution is when we become envious or jealous of other people’s gifts, talents or purpose in life.

I have a friend who is an amazing artist. I always marvel at the work she does, painting beautiful landscapes and nature scenes. I’m doing good to draw stick people!

I have another friend who takes incredible pictures. Her subjects are beautiful, the lighting is perfect, the backgrounds are unique. I’m doing good to capture people without a goofy look on their face, usually with the sun making them squint!

Another friend is a gifted counselor. I’ve seen her in action. The wisdom flows from her without thought and encourages others in their faith. I’m doing good when all I can think to say is, “So how is that workin’ for ya?”

My list could go on about friends and family and the things they can do better than I.

But if I painted landscapes or took pictures or counseled others, or anything in a long list of talents other people have, who would do what I do?

I’ve often been told, “I could never do what you do!”

That doesn’t make sense to me. It’s not hard to log in to MailChimp and send a newsletter. It’s not hard to keep a master calendar. It’s fun to design the bulletin and promotional materials for events the church has going on.

God has blessed us all with a gift and a purpose that requires that gift. Use what God has given you, and use it with joy! Be thankful that you can do what nobody else can do. Be thankful you can reach people only you can reach. Be thankful that you will make a difference in someone’s life that only you can make.

Just be you!

Galatians 6:4 – 5 (MSG)

Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life.

 

